Congratulations to our 2022 Coyote graduates! Stay in touch with USD by updating your contact information.

Join Us to Celebrate

History 100yr Anniversary Logo Web

USD’s History Department is celebrating the 100th anniversary of its History M.A. Program with a conference on history and historical professions, from 8:00 am - 5:15 pm and an evening dinner from 6:00 - 8:30 pm, on September 16, 2022.

Registration for the history conference (including lunch) and/or evening dinner is FREE but REQUIRED.

If you have any questions, please contact the History Department at or via phone at 605-677-5218, or Dr. Molly P. Rozum, Ronald R. Nelson Chair of Great Plains and South Dakota History, and Director of History Graduate Studies, at or 605-670-3177.

We look forward to seeing you in September!


Fill out the form below to register for the conference and/or dinner.


The History Department has reserved hotel blocks for this event. In order to ensure a hotel room, please reserve your room by August 30th.

Holiday Inn Express
1200 N Dakota St
Vermillion, SD 57069
(605) 624-7600

Best Western
701 W Cherry St
Vermillion, SD 57069
(605) 624-8333


  • 8:00am: Check-in, coffee and pastries
  • 8:45am: Welcome
  • 9:00-9:50am: History Panel I
  • 10:00-10:50am: History Panel II
  • 11:00-11:50am: Educators Panel
  • 12:00-12:50pm: Lunch
  • 1:00-1:50pm: History Panel III
  • 2:00-2:50pm: History Panel IV
  • 2:50-3:15pm: Break
  • 3:15-5:15pm: History Careers Panel
  • 6:00-8:30pm: Dinner

The schedule is subject to change.

Jerome A. Greene, 1969, Retired, US National Park Service
Author of American Carnage: Wounded Knee, 1890 and editor of “All Guns Fired At one Time”: Native Voices of Wounded Knee, 1890.

Richmond L. Clow, 1972, Professor Emeritus of Native American Studies, University of Montana
Author of Spotted Tail: Warrior and Statesman and editor of The Sioux in South Dakota History: A Twentieth-Century Reader.

Gary Clayton Anderson, 1972, George Lynn Cross Research Professor of History, University of Oklahoma
Author of Massacre in Minnesota: The Dakota War of 1862, the Most Violent Ethnic Conflict in American History and Gabriel Renville and the Creation of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Indian Reservation.

James Marten, 1981, Professor Emeritus of History, Marquette University
Author of The Children’s Civil War and Sing Not War: The Lives of Union and Confederate Veterans in Gilded Age America.

Robert Galler, 1994, Professor of History, St. Cloud State University, Minnesota
Author of “Councils, Petitions, and Delegations: Crow Creek Activism and the Progressive Era in Central South Dakota” and “Making Common Cause: Yanktonais and Catholic Missionaries on the Northern Plains, 1680-1880.”

Lisa Millen, 2000, Assistant Professor, Assemblies of God Theological Seminary, Springfield, Missouri.
Author of “Hugh of St. Victor and the Gifts of the Holy Spirit,” in The Holy Spirit and the Christian Life: Historical, Interdisciplinary, and Renewal Perspectives.

Nick Estes (Lower Brule Sioux Tribe), 2013, Assistant Professor of American Indian Studies, University of Minnesota
Author of Our History Is the Future: Standing Rock Versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the Long Tradition of Indigenous Resistance and co-editor of Standing with Standing Rock: Voices from the #NODAPL Movement

Lindsey Peterson, 2015, Instructor, University of Sioux Falls
Author of “‘Iowa Excelled Them All’: Iowa Local Ladies’ Aid Societies Relief on the Civil War Frontier, 1861–1865” and “ ‘We are now at Gettysburg’: Gender and Place in the Iowa Woman’s Relief Corps’ Monument to Jennie Wade”

Andrew Youngworth, 1986, teacher, McAuley Catholic High School, Joplin, MO

Jeff Gordon, 2008, Instructional Coach, O’Gorman High School, Sioux Falls, SD

Justin Hammer, 2011, archaeologist, US Bureau of Reclamation, Rapid City, SD

Nicholas Bubak, 2012, education advisor, TRIO, University of South Dakota

Kelsea Kenzy Sutton, 2014, Compliance Officer & Corporate Counsel, First Fidelity Bank, Burke, SD

John Little (Standing Rock Dakota), 2014, Director of Native Recruitment and Alumni Engagement, University of South Dakota

Matt Daly, 2015, teacher, Lincoln High School, Sioux Falls, SD

Kylie (Stevens) Conover, 2017, Program and Outreach Manager, Great River Children’s Museum, St. Cloud, Minnesota

Taylor Hamblin, 2018, Ph.D. candidate, Educational Studies, University of Nebraska Lincoln

Share your memories of the History Graduate Program

Click the button below to share your memories of professors, classmates and stories from your time in the History Graduate Program.


Donate to the History Alumni Award Endowment

Click the button below to donate to the History Alumni Award Endowment. This fund is for graduate student research and travel. If you'd prefer to donate with a check, you can mail your check with the "History Alumni Award Endowment Fund" written in the memo line, to:

USD Foundation
1110 N. Dakota St.
Vermillion, SD 57069


East Hall 1891