The University of South Dakota’s School of Education hosted their annual Scholarship & Awards Reception this past Thursday to an audience of donors, alumni, faculty and student scholarship recipients. Held in the MUC Ballroom, which was donned with beautiful floral arrangements and an impressive spread of hors d’oeuvres, the presentation recognized faculty, provided updates on the school’s programs and built a sense of pride that extended from scholarship recipients to donors alike.

“After all that has occurred in the past few years in the field of education, it feels necessary for us to take a step back and appreciate each other, and to acknowledge our triumphs among the tribulations,” remarked Jackie Wilber, Director of the Center for Student and Professional Services in the School of Education.

Dean Amy Schweinle took the stage to highlight the accomplishments of the School of Education, from being ranked as No. 1 in the region for online graduate programs by the U.S. News and World Report to having six School of Education alumni inducted into this year’s 30 Under 30 cohort. Dean Schweinle also discussed the various programs, partnerships and priorities currently being utilized by not only the school, but the faculty and students of all four divisions of the School of Education.

Ending with a “Thank You” video from the scholarship recipients, the event solidified the idea that recognizing the support and hard work that goes into keeping the School of Education at its current caliber is always worth the effort.

Support the next generation of educators, counselors, sports professionals and more by giving to the School of Education.

President’s Award for Research Excellence: Establish Faculty
Gabrielle Strouse, Ph.D., Associate Professor in the Human Development and Educational Psychology Program – Chair of CPE

Faculty Excellence Award
Teaching: Wendy Johnson in Kinesiology and Sport Management
Service: Dr. Monica Iverson in Teacher Residency & Education
Research: Dr. Dan DeCino in Counseling & Psychology in Education

Student Awards

1st Place: Hannah Faiman, a Doctoral Student in the Human Development and Educational Psychology Program

Anita Johnson Gwin Scholarship: Catherine Orban
David & Kay Olson Counseling Program Fund: Reed Keen
E. Gordon Poling Memorial Scholarship: Madelyn Wade
Hee-sook Choi School Psychology Scholarship: Bailey Todd & Todd Velianski
Robert H. & Myrtle E. Knapp Scholarship: Daniel Bishop

Dr. H.C. “Rus” Rustad Memorial Scholarship: Diana Eastman
Dr. Harry Dykstra Memorial Scholarship: Jordan Likness
Dr. Jan Ebersdorfer Women in Administration Scholarship: Tiffany Shonerd
Dr. LeRoy Nelson Scholarship: Philip Schonebaum
Dr. Perry L. Uhl Memorial Scholarship: Kay Bass
Dr. Phil Vik Leadership Scholarship: Zachariah Gors
Dr. Shawn P. Winthers Memorial Scholarship Endowment: Merideth Wald
Floyd & Marlys Ann Boshee Scholarship: Matthew Dykstra
Frederic Peterson/North Central Association Scholarship: Lisa Carlson
James Flevares Memorial Scholarship: Shanice Hall
One Room Rural School Teacher Commemorative Scholarship: Paige Petry

Jessie Daw, Ph.D., Division Chair and Associate Professor of Practice, was pleased to announce the revitalization of the Kinesiology and Sport Management Scholarship Endowment, thanks to the generosity and support of John Maynes.

Ben & Lillie Otto Scholarship: Abbigail Nelson
E. Louise Coover Memorial Scholarship: Thomas Lewis
Hazel Linderman Scholarship: Dylan Buchholz
Patricia Tschetter Mendell Memorial Scholarship: Candace Hanson
Robert & Elizabeth Wood Elementary Education & Special Education Scholarship: Kellie Jones, Karlee Kasperbauer, Carlie Rieffenberger, Kazlyn Schulz

Allen and Linda Leck Scholarship: Jordy Alvarez-Martinez
Bill Matousek and Marjory Caldeira Scholarship: Kaitlyn Tassler
Caitlyn Carman Education Scholarship: Aidan Feddes
Collen Yunker Scholarship: Keira Hillrichs, Jeslyn Huinker, Maia Kennedy, Veronica Rhead, Charles Schroeder
Constance L. Hoag Scholarship: Dylan Buchholz
Dr. Wayne H. Evans, Sr. & Patricia Evans Teacher Education Scholarship: Shelby Wright
Edis Juel and Sidney E. Anderson Scholarship: Olivia Shroyer
Grant Heckenlively and Geri Heckenlively Brook Scholarship: Mark Loofe
Horace and Donna Walter Scholarship: Briana DeWitte, Laina Juergens, Emma Weisz, Elena Whalen
Jane Bartling Christensen Scholarship: Brooke Creviston
Jeanne Spilde Gonzenbach Scholarship: Savannah McGraw, Ana Rodriguez Garcia, Andres Torres
Karen E. & Dale L. Hofwolt Education Scholarship: Kelynn Anawaski, Noah Sorgdrager, Regan Stoick, Eva Volk, Tanner Warwick
Mary Wanserski Memorial Scholarship: Rebecca Kronaizl
Robert “Bid” & Jonette “Joni” Miller Scholarship: Kennedy Kahler
Roger H. Davies Memorial Scholarship: Abigail Buskohl
SoE Undergraduate Leadership Award: Sydney Kellen, Lily Hilt, Brooke Creviston
SoE Graduate Leadership Award: Hannah Faiman
Moran Award: McHale Davis & Julia Price-Lee