The University of South Dakota Foundation Board of Directors and Alumni Association Board of Directors announced the election of Ryan Taylor (’93, ’99) and Tyler Tordsen (’15) as new board chairs, respectively. Their tenures began Oct. 1; they will serve two-year terms.

Taylor succeeds Gary Begeman (’80; Philomont, Va.); Tordsen succeeds Steve Young (’01, ’03; Sioux Falls). Both Begeman and Young will continue to serve on their respective boards.

In addition, the USD Foundation trustees approved the election of Kyle Jorgensen (’07; Edina, Minn.), Jafar Karim (’93; Rapid City), Terry Kurtenbach (’83; Germantown, Wis.) and Brandee Schultz (’94; Glenwood, Iowa) and the reelection of Deb Peters (’97; Hartford) and Jack Hopkins (’84; Sioux Falls) to the board of directors for three-year terms. Taylor also appointed Nathan Peterson (’05, ’14; Sioux Falls) and Paul Hanson (Sioux Falls) to the board, who will serve two-year terms concurrent with Taylor’s chairmanship.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors elected Kristin Haggar-Cozad (’95; Sioux Falls) and Ben Ries (’02; Norfolk, Neb.) and reelected Hailie Warren (’11; Vermillion) and Patrick Glover (’01, ’04; Sioux Falls) to three-year terms.

“Gary Begeman and Steve Young had the challenge of leading during a pandemic, but they did so with great success, prioritizing transparency and engagement while the boards met remotely. Thanks to their passion and efforts, we saw one of our strongest years ever last year,” said Steve Brown, the USD Foundation’s president and CEO. “I know Ryan and Tyler are eager to get started and will continue to bolster alumni engagement, Coyote pride and diversity of thought to take our institution to an even higher level in the years to come.”

Taylor has served as a USD Foundation trustee since 2005 and as a member of the board since 2015. He graduated from USD with his bachelor’s degree in accounting in 1993 and received his J.D. in 1999. He is currently a partner at Cutler Law Firm, LLP, in Sioux Falls.

Tordsen received his bachelor’s degree in economics and political science from USD in 2015. He serves as southeast regional director for U.S. Sen. Mike Rounds in Sioux Falls.